Skip to main content

The beginning of a new era for BRM that was to be the most successful decade in the marque’s history, yielding 12 Grand Prix wins, a Drivers’ World Champion Title and a Constructors’ Title and 3 runners up titles in 1963,1964 and 1965. 1962 was the definitive year and pinnacle of BRM’s history.

Graham Hill steered his P57 ‘Old Faithful’ V8 to win the World Drivers’ Championship and secured the World Constructors Title for BRM. Thus, finally realising Raymond Mays’ vision and dream announced at Folkingham Airfield 13 years earlier.

1965 saw the introduction of the iconic P261, the first Formula One drive for another future world champion Jackie Stewart and BRM innovate with a collaboration Rover to produce the Gas Turbine le Mans car.

The powerful H16 and V12 engines are introduced in the P83 P115 P138 and P139 cars. John Surtees makes his BRM debut in 1969.